Bought a Customer a New Refrigerator

By : John Bareither

J & I Appliance Repair, Georgetown KY,

Last week I was working on an ice maker on a French door Frigidaire refrigerator with the bullet style ice maker.  As I was removing the side panel to get to the wires to grease with dielectric grease, I broke the cap tube line while moving them to get the side panel off. I have worked on more than 50 of these units and never had a problem. There is nothing like hearing the hiss of refrigerant leaving the system while the customer is watching. I am standing there thinking “Oh s@#t, what am I going to do now?”  I called the Frigidaire tech line and the word is, unrepairable. No problem, we go to Lowe’s and I buy her another unit so she has a working fridge and turn it in to insurance. Lowe’s delivers it the next day. The customer is now happy. Insurance is another story. I can flood a house, ruin a floor, burn down a house, and I am covered for a million or 2. Apparently, if I am working on something or it is in my “employ” I am not covered under my liability insurance without an endorsement or rider. So I now have a maybe useless refrigerator in my garage. I did repair it as best as possible this evening and the vacuum pump is on it till tomorrow evening. I am not sure if it will work, as the cap tube doesn’t go into the other tube as far as it once did, and that may make a difference. If it does work, we will have a newer fridge in the kitchen, if it doesn’t, it was an expensive insurance lesson. You may want to check with your insurance agent to see if you are covered for things you are working on. Appliances are expensive these days and you need to make sure you are covered for all situations.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Good to know. Thanks John!

Leave a comment